Monday, January 28, 2013

State Tourney Results


Glacier, Flathead finish 1-2 in 

Class AA speech finale


Posted: Sunday, January 27, 2013 10:30 am Updated: 10:47 am, Sun Jan 27, 2013.

Kalispell schools topped the Class AA Speech and Debate State Tournament on Saturday with a one-two finish.

Glacier High School placed first and Flathead High School second in the Class AA finale in Butte.

It marked the third straight state title for Glacier, which amassed 144.5 points. Flathead was close behind with 125.5 points. Bozeman was third with 99.

Glacier’s state performance was spearheaded by individual champions Hunter Garbacz in Legislative Debate, Tanner Maroney in Serious Interpretation and Teesa Palmatier in Original Oratory.
It’s Maroney’s second straight Class AA title in Serious Interpretation, an event in which he has been undefeated the past two seasons.

Flathead had individual state champions in Duo Interpretation (Wyatt Dykhuizen and Parker Kouns), Humorous Interpretation (Karl Boveng) and Memorized Public Address (Brooke Wahlert).
Boveng was the top scorer this season for Flathead. His Humorous Interpretation piece, “Bobby Wilson Can Eat His Own Face,” is a one-act play.

“As a coaching staff, we are thrilled with the effort put forth by our students,” Flathead coach Shannon O’Donnell said. “We took a tremendous step forward this year and are excited about the future of FHS speech.”

Glacier’s state championship trophy marks the 12th team title earned by teams coached by Glacier coach Greg Adkins. His Flathead teams won nine state titles before he moved to Glacier to win the last three.
That makes Adkins the winningest coach in Montana Class AA speech and debate history. He surpassed Anne Sullivan, who won 11 championships at Bozeman High School.
“I am humbled and honored. This is an amazing team and I feel blessed to work with such amazing people,” Adkins said.

The close battle with Flathead this weekend was an example of why every performance counts, according to Adkins.

Both O’Donnell and Adkins have been nominated for the Class AA coach of the year award. Glacier assistant coach Ivanna Fritz was nominated for AA assistant coach of the year.

Class AA state speech results:

Team Sweepstakes
Glacier: 144.5
Flathead: 125.5
Bozeman: 99

Policy Debate
3. Ellie Lapp and Katie Anderson, Flathead
4. Ryan Keenan and Ben Moon, Flathead
5. Ryker McIntyre and Anika Fritz, Glacier

Lincoln Douglas Debate
3. Lukas Dregne, Glacier

Public Forum Debate 
3. Ian Hollander and Izaak Castren, Glacier
5. Noah Hill and Ruben Castren, Glacier
6. Kelly Hendrix and Aryn Phillips, Flathead

Legislative Debate
1. Hunter Garbacz, Glacier
3. Barrie Sugarman, Flathead
6. Reece Erickson, Glacier
7. Serena Brosten, Flathead

Extemporaneous Speaking
3. Nick LaGrandeur, Glacier
6. Tom Dooling, Flathead

3. Molly Wright, Glacier

Duo Interpretation   
1. Wyatt Dykhuizen and Parker Kouns, Flathead
2. Bryce Tomas and Tanner Maroney, Glacier
4. Jesse Francis and Jake Wilson, Flathead

Humorous Interpretation   
1. Karl Boveng, Flathead
2. Abby VanAllen, Glacier
6. Sydney Boveng, Flathead

Serious Interpretation   
1. Tanner Maroney, Glacier
3. Bryce Tomas, Glacier
5. Jessica Mount, Glacier
7. Karl Boveng, Flathead
8. Jhalen Salazar, Flathead

Memorized Public Address
1. Brooke Wahlert, Flathead
4. Danny Power, Flathead
5. Leah Cook, Glacier
6. Chloe Newlon, Flathead
7. Harrison Kauffman, Glacier
8. Molly Wright, Glacier

Original Oratory
1. Teesa Palmatier, Glacier
3. Emily Morrison, Glacier
4. Keckeley Habel, Glacier
5. Angie Merrill, Glacier
8. Maija Hadwin, Flathead

Expository Speaking
2. Christian Stratton, Glacier
3. Kodee Wagner, Flathead
4. Sara Christensen, Glacier
6. Glenn Strickler, Flathead

A VERY special thanks to the best coaching staff in the State: 

Roy Antley, April Williams, Jenna Holmes, Dow Stephens, Sean Nalty, Victoria Zimmer, Jen Stebbins-Han, Kyla Niva, Lauren Gustafson, Liz Cummings, and Sean O'Donnell

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Travel Info -- State

AA State Tournament--Butte

Jan. 25 & 26, 2013


  Travel Form

Students will be school sponsored for the full day Friday, and the bus will leave from FHS at 7:00 AM sharp. DON’T BE LATE. Our expected return is sometime between around midnight—we’ll have the kids call when we reach Lakeside.

We will be staying at the Best Western Butte Plaza Inn
# 494-0345

Coaches Attending: 
Mrs. O’Donnell, Mr. Antley, Mrs. Williams, Mrs. Holmes, Mrs. Stebbins-Han, Mrs. Niva, Ms. Zimmer, Mrs. Gustafson, Mr. Nalty, Ms. Cummings

Tourney Schedule:   

Speech   Extemp draw will be held 30 minutes before each round
Round 1: 4:00 PM
Round 2: 6:00 PM
Round 3: 8:00 PM


Round 1: 2:30 pm                             
Round 2: 4:00 pm                          
Round 3: 6:00 pm                            
Round 4: 8:00 pm                            


Round 4: 8:30 am
Round 5: 10:30 am
Semis:     1:00 pm
Finals:     3:00 pm


Round 5:   8:00 am
Octas:       10:00 am
Quarters:  12:00 pm
Semis:       2:00 pm
Finals:       4:00 pm

The AA State Awards Ceremony will take place in the Butte High School auditorium at 6:30 pm.